Bankstown Senior College (a Government Senior High School) is an adult learning environment.


The College provides the following courses:

Preliminary and Higher School Certificate (HSC)


Year 10


Intensive English Classes (IEC)


Certificate II in Spoken and Written English (CSWE) English For Further Study


Mid Year Preparation Courses for Year 10 and the Preliminary Higher School Certificate


Bankstown Tutorial Program (BTP) which aims to help students who have internalising behaviour and mental health issues.


The College specialises in supporting students who are:

  • Re-entry both mature age and young adults, including those who have had interrupted formal education

  • At risk of not completing formal education

  • ESL learners including new arrivals needing intensive English support

  • Part time

  • In need of special individual support

And we support them through:

  • A broad curriculum including: a full range of courses in all Key Learning Areas; Vocational Education (VET)  and easy access to TAFE Vocational Education courses(TVET)

  • Quality teaching

  • Team teaching, ESL support and learning assistance

  • Extensive student welfare support structures

  • Flexible delivery

  • Access to technologies, resources and facilities

  • International Student Support Program

Students in Year 7 are introduced to the eight key learning areas that they will study until Year 10.

Year 7 to Year 10 focuses on eight key learning areas:

Within these key learning areas there are courses and elective subjects.
Mandatory Courses in Years 7-10 are studied by all students in NSW public schools and are set by the Board of Studies.

Students choose from a range of elective courses that we offer depending on teacher expertise and the number of students interested in that subject. Information on elective courses is available in the Board of Studies syllabus course descriptions (PDF 163 KB).

The School Certificate is no longer being awarded. Eligible students who leave school prior to receiving their Higher School Certificate will receive the NSW Record of School Achievement.

In Years 11 and 12 students study for the Higher School Certificate (HSC).

HSC courses

There are two types of courses students can study:

  • Board developed courses
    These courses are set and externally examined by the Board of Studies, and may contribute to the calculation of an Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR).

    These include courses in English, mathematics, science, technology, creative arts, personal development, health and physical education, human society and its environment, languages and Vocational Education and Training (VET) curriculum frameworks.

    Read a list of the subjects available and a description of each course on the Board of Studies website.

  • Board endorsed courses
    These courses are developed by schools, TAFE institutes or universities. They count towards the HSC but do not count towards the calculation of an Australian Tertiary Admissions Rank (ATAR).

Vocational education and training courses

Vocational Education and Training (VET) courses are either Board developed courses, which may contribute to the calculation of an ATAR, or Board endorsed courses.

VET courses give students work-related skills in a variety of industry areas. Students will receive a nationally recognised qualification when they complete their course.

Some VET courses are studied at school while others can be studied at TAFE institutes and other training providers. Many VET courses involve work placement.

Board developed VET courses are available in a number of industry curriculum frameworks, such as hospitality and information technology.

  • Navigate to the School Years 11 or 12 sections to find out more